Comptroller of Maryland. Serving the People. Peter Franchot, Comptroller
Comptroller of Maryland
Maryland Taxes: Find all tax-related information and services. Maryland's Money: Resource for transparent financial reporting. Comptroller of Maryland: Information and resources for government agencies, state employees, vendors, and the general public. Media Services: Outlet for agency and Comptroller news. Online Services: Links to all agency online services and applications. Search Engine: Find it Fast! Home Page

William Donald Schaefer Helping People Award

Back for a fourth year, the William Donald Schaefer Helping People Award will be presented by the Comptroller to the individuals and organizations in each county and Baltimore City best exemplifying William Donald Schaefer’s lifelong commitment to helping people. 

Winners will be selected based on their demonstration of:

  • improving the community
  • swiftly solving a citizen problem through effective government intervention
  • directly aiding the most vulnerable in society or
  • creating a public/private partnership to improve the lives of Marylanders.

Nominations for the 2015 William Donald Schaefer Helping People Award are now open. Please submit nominations with the 2015 form. The Deadline for submissions is March 20, 2015.


The following people/organizations received the 2014 William Donald Schaefer Award:

  • Ed Mullaney, Cafe Mark - Allegany County
  • Yevola Peters, St. Phillip's Church - Anne Arundel County
  • Paul's Place - Baltimore City
  • Maryland State Fairgrounds - Baltimore County
  • Norma Imershein, Southern Branch Calvert County Library - Calvert County
  • George Jackson Jr. - Caroline County
  • The Shepherd's Staff - Carroll County
  • Wylie Gray, Dorchester Parks and Recreation - Dorchester County
  • Laurie Frey, Frederick Memorial Hospital - Frederick County
  • Sandy Bell, First United Bank and Trust - Garrett County
  • David Gertler, Centennial High School - Howard County
  • Carla Massoni - Kent County
  • Warrior Canine Connection - Montgomery County
  • Annette DiMaggio, Sudlersville Elementary School - Queen Anne’s County
  • Delegate John Wood - St Mary’s County
  • John Tripline, Easton YMCA - Talbot County
  • James Marshall, REACH of Washington County - Washington County
  • Marty Neat, Community Fund of the Eastern Shore - Wicomico County
  • Ocean City Mayor Rick Meehan - Worcester County


Links for Comptroller Initiatives
Agency Information
Office of the Comptroller
Comptroller Initiatives
  Better With Less Award
  School Maintenance
  Shop Maryland Tax-free Week
  Shop Maryland Energy
  Golden Apple Award
  Start School After Labor Day
  Agency Accomplishments
  Legislative Initiatives
  Money Saving Tips for Motorists
  Financial Literacy
  WD Schaefer Helping People Award
  Life Sciences Promotion
  Maryland Masters Award
  Contact the Ombudsman
Download for Adobe Reader Homepage